February 2014 Newsletter: What’s On My Plate

Did anyone else have to dig out their cars with their bare hands & a mini snow brush? It was that kind of month! This week I attended a 2-day training called Beyond Trauma with Stephanie Covington at the Women’s Consortium in Hamen. I had the amazing honor of presenting at the Boys & Girls Club on Career Success & Asking for Help; Greens Farms Academy’s on Body Image & Eating Disorders.

Image
You can listen to a recording of my 1 hour fundraising webinar training here: Advocates for Youth on Building Relationships, Making the Ask.

Read my post on My Recipe for Confidence, inspired by the students I’ve been working with. I’m also leading a social media campaign called Embrace Yourselfie to help people who are learning to love & accept their bodies. Please be in touch if you’re interested in joining us (nearly 200 strong!)

I’ve enthusiastically accepted an internship at the CT Nonprofit Association to learn more about policy and nonprofit management. Last but not least, I’ve received a Dean Merit Scholarship to Smith School of Social Work. Thank you to all my mentors and friends who helped me navigate difficult some decisions these past few weeks and supported me through the application process. As always, please let me know if I can ever be a resource for you and your friends/family.

Here are 3 networking tips :

  • Put reminders in your calendar to follow up with people so the ball is always in your court!
  • Utilize Boomerang so e-mails bounce back to you if there is no response in a set amount of days.
  • Label business cards with personal notes to remind you of your conversations. This will help with follow up!

What’s on the horizon?

  • Leading a fundraising campaign for the NEARI School in MA. This school provides high quality education and treatment services to at risk children and youth.
  • Planning the Center for Family Justice’s Walk a Mile in Her Shoes event (May 3rd in Fairfield, CT).
  • Coaching and speaking engagement (see website for topics)
  • Looking for opportunities to facilitate VOICES program of empowerment and self-discovery for girls
  • Mentoring girls at LISA Inc. (Living in Safer Alternatives), a residential program for foster care youth
Leave a Reply

